Search found 481 matches

by Contrarius
Sun Jan 31, 2021 12:58 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Panzer iii ausf e
Replies: 6
Views: 497

Re: Panzer iii ausf e

Panzer III A-C were early prototypes but some saw action in Poland. The E was the first version that had a production run of more than a few tens of vehicles and all were made in 1939. The Consolidated Arsenal has the D, E and early Fs all with 1 better armour but the same support cost as the A-C v...
by Contrarius
Mon Jan 04, 2021 9:23 pm
Forum: General Discussion
Topic: 2020 Lard Magazine
Replies: 4
Views: 716

Re: 2020 Lard Magazine

dakkadakka wrote:
Mon Jan 04, 2021 5:39 pm
I noticed that there are two Waterloo scenarios listed.
Not two but three:

Sambre, Hougoumont and Plancenoit.
by Contrarius
Mon Jan 04, 2021 9:17 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Transffering troops
Replies: 10
Views: 716

Re: Transffering troops

I did warn that amalgamations might be ‘gamed’ to avoid taking morale tests. I suppose they’re better suited to solo games than more competitive play. As for shock, I thought it was a given that you transfer it along with the figure you are transferring just as in Sharp Practice. Personally, I would...
by Contrarius
Sun Jan 03, 2021 6:49 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Transffering troops
Replies: 10
Views: 716

Re: Transffering troops

BaronVonWreckedoften wrote:
Sun Jan 03, 2021 12:41 pm
Contrarius wrote:
Sun Jan 03, 2021 10:17 am
It’s like the final survivors catching their breath, re-arming, and regrouping for that “one final push”.
All two of them..... 8-)
With an MG42 and JL to control fire. Yes.
(You clearly haven’t been watching the same movies as me. LOL.)
by Contrarius
Sun Jan 03, 2021 10:37 am
Forum: Sharp Practice
Topic: New Player Queries
Replies: 7
Views: 1243

Re: New Player Queries

Cavalry is not really going to work on a 4’ by 4’ table, at least not to its full historical advantage. Otherwise I’d agree with @Counterpane that 4’ by 4’ is plenty in dense or urban scenery. As always, try a few games to see if the rules work for you before making any major investment.
by Contrarius
Sun Jan 03, 2021 10:29 am
Forum: Infamy, Infamy!
Topic: New to TFL rules - Infamy Infamy! - Intro and which figures for ...
Replies: 8
Views: 612

Re: New to TFL rules - Infamy Infamy! - Intro and which figures for ...

Lovely stuff. I can just imagine them facing a few massive Celtic Warbands!
by Contrarius
Sun Jan 03, 2021 10:17 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Transffering troops
Replies: 10
Views: 716

Re: Transffering troops

In Sharp Practice you can consolidate Groups — the cost being the equivalent of one C.I. This is certainly to your advantage, especially when you redistribute shock across the surviving groups in a more even way. You don’t need to throw for loss of a Group. Doesn’t make logical sense to me that orde...
by Contrarius
Sat Jan 02, 2021 1:00 pm
Forum: Infamy, Infamy!
Topic: New to TFL rules - Infamy Infamy! - Intro and which figures for ...
Replies: 8
Views: 612

Re: New to TFL rules - Infamy Infamy! - Intro and which figures for ...

Foederati: I do them all in mail and some with roman style helmets, and mainly with swords as well as spears. Personally I think they'd revert to tribal patterns on their shields but I can see arguments either way. There seems to be evidence that what you call the tribal patterns were influenced by...
by Contrarius
Sat Jan 02, 2021 12:55 pm
Forum: Infamy, Infamy!
Topic: New to TFL rules - Infamy Infamy! - Intro and which figures for ...
Replies: 8
Views: 612

Re: New to TFL rules - Infamy Infamy! - Intro and which figures for ...

I have been wargaming since the 1960s and have almost completed a representation of Legio VI Victrix and some supporting Auxilia at about 1:20 figure scale in 28mm size figures based on the units that left their identity on or near the Antonine Wall. Oooh, that would be amazing to see. Do you have ...
by Contrarius
Sat Jan 02, 2021 12:49 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Transffering troops
Replies: 10
Views: 716

Re: Transffering troops

Certainly nothing stopping you transferring the last rifleman to your LMG (at a cost of one C.I. from the attached officer). I don’t think the specific scenario you give is directly covered in the rules, but I would say: * No need to roll for loss of a section on consolidating the section into the L...