Search found 195 matches

by GavinP
Wed Aug 12, 2020 3:20 pm
Forum: Off Topic!
Topic: Nuts!?
Replies: 4
Views: 2922

Re: Nuts!?

I've played quite a bit of FNG which is the same core system. The changes in the most recent edition devolved the game for me into die rolling hell. At it's heart, there's a really neat system trying to get out, I just didn't think it ever made it. It would still be my go to for 28mm Vietnam Skirmis...
by GavinP
Thu Jul 23, 2020 3:44 pm
Forum: Charlie Don't Surf
Topic: surf's up sniper
Replies: 15
Views: 4074

Re: surf's up sniper

Agree with John regarding the TOE. I have not played the scenarios and don't have it to hand but I'd imagine the other thing IMO to remember is that the VC don't have to deploy their platoon together. They can use hidden deployment to take advantage of specific terrain pieces and place individual sq...
by GavinP
Tue Feb 11, 2020 8:29 pm
Forum: Miniatures, Models & Scenery
Topic: Anyone in the market for 28mm Arthurians??
Replies: 2
Views: 1371

Anyone in the market for 28mm Arthurians??

I'm having a clear out of periods/scales I'm never going to game with. Next on the block are some 28mm Gripping Beast Arthurians/Dark Ages figures. Possibly enough to play Dux with, or at least a good start. Couple of pics!Ap0Wv1RAuTk07T43DK5uOez4BjZO!Ap0Wv1RA...
by GavinP
Thu Dec 05, 2019 8:57 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Question about removing shock
Replies: 30
Views: 6142

Re: Question about removing shock

I'm with Seret. To take the rules to mean you cannot give your lads a pep talk before moving the section to the next hedge is in my view being obtuse. If you're burning two dice and no unit is being activated twice I see no reason that it shouldn't be the case. Would you allow a 3 and then a 2 to re...
by GavinP
Sat Oct 19, 2019 11:57 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Medium Mortar Batteries
Replies: 10
Views: 2626

Re: Medium Mortar Batteries

1) Yes 18" sides 2) Yes, a team under the barrage can be killed. 3) yes, 6" is guaranteed. 4) a barrage that is activated roles for casualties. A barrage that is not activated does not but it continues to be there until the FO is killed or the FO stops the barrage. And yes, It's massively powerful w...
by GavinP
Tue Oct 08, 2019 4:02 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Over watch and panzerfausts
Replies: 54
Views: 13834

Re: Over watch and panzerfausts

If it were a rifle team on overwatch, would you allow the rifles to fire subsequently at an infantry target or does firing the faust burn the entire teams overwatch?
by GavinP
Wed Sep 18, 2019 10:19 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Questions
Replies: 19
Views: 4068

Re: Questions

The rules make it quite clear to me that you're aware of anything on the table. So if the models are there you know about it. The rules also talk about deploy and may fire. Not fire, then deploy. So I'm with MLB on this one.
by GavinP
Thu Sep 12, 2019 7:55 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Some more post-game questions
Replies: 6
Views: 1831

Some more post-game questions

Last night we finished our game from last week, with the result being a bloodbath for both sides and neither set of players feeling like they could do anything further. The Germans had lost 14 men and the British 11 but the force morale had been barely impacted. We called it as it had ended being a ...
by GavinP
Mon Sep 09, 2019 5:00 pm
Forum: Miniatures, Models & Scenery
Topic: 20mm German SS Oakleaf - Opinions sought
Replies: 14
Views: 4544

Re: 20mm German SS Oakleaf - Opinions sought

I suspect that you're right. The later batches I made larger dark patches to begin with which look better, but they aren't all that close together you're right. I still have a few to do which I will try some different ideas. Thanks for the reply.