Search found 27 matches

by Maturin
Sun Oct 14, 2018 8:38 am
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Videos, perhaps
Replies: 23
Views: 1663

Re: Videos, perhaps

Ooo ooo ! how exciting. will there be a box set? will it be repeated endlessly on Dave?
by Maturin
Fri Oct 12, 2018 4:55 pm
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: A bit of BUA on the side
Replies: 2
Views: 156

Re: A bit of BUA on the side

Hi DB
Actually I think I may have found the solution in that this support would not be allowed under the directly opposing enemy rule?
Here is the pic anyway.
Image
Cheers
Tim
by Maturin
Thu Oct 11, 2018 7:29 am
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: A bit of BUA on the side
Replies: 2
Views: 156

A bit of BUA on the side

A column (C) supported by a line on its flank (L1), decides to charge a line (L2) with a garrisoned BUA (G) on a flank directly opposing L1. Both are within charge distance. C aims for center of L2 but L1 overlaps both the L2 and G. The charge is successful. Q. G cannot support L2 so C & L2 should m...
by Maturin
Wed Oct 03, 2018 8:04 am
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Double Discipline?
Replies: 4
Views: 197

Re: Double Discipline?

Thanks for that John, I had missed the statement on p81. Did some stats stuff on this and charging is a definite risky business. 2 average columns + general, charging average Line with supports and average skirmish screen + general Wins outright 26% , Volleys 30% , Firefights 20%, Retreats 6%, Retir...
by Maturin
Mon Oct 01, 2018 8:51 am
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Double Discipline?
Replies: 4
Views: 197

Double Discipline?

Hi This came up yesterday and maybe it has come up before, but I could not resolve it. In an infantry charge the defending skirmish line threw a double 6 before retiring out of the way. The unit charging took the casualties and passed the DT. The defending unit then also threw well and another DT wa...
by Maturin
Wed Sep 26, 2018 7:01 am
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Is a step back a withdraw?
Replies: 3
Views: 244

Re: Is a step back a withdraw?

Thanks John
Always helpful to have some agreement.
T
by Maturin
Tue Sep 25, 2018 1:29 pm
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Is a step back a withdraw?
Replies: 3
Views: 244

Is a step back a withdraw?

Hi Under Infantry assault you cannot withdraw from the enemy once in volley range. But can you Step back? If you were still inside the volley range would this be seen as an adjustment and not a withdrawal? If yes this would be useful to line up on targets that may have appeared, shifted, wheeled or ...
by Maturin
Wed Feb 07, 2018 4:19 pm
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Royal Horse Artillery
Replies: 8
Views: 1002

Re: Royal Horse Artillery

DB You confused? surely not. Agree that normal strength RHA 5x6pdr + 1 Howitzer. But in some of the penisular battles many got stuck in places like Lisbon or left besieging towns when the army moved quickly. At Albuera sources (Lipscome's book [Wellington's guns] references this as does Dempsey) sho...
by Maturin
Wed Feb 07, 2018 3:13 pm
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Royal Horse Artillery
Replies: 8
Views: 1002

Re: Royal Horse Artillery

Hi Michele Thanks for the suggestion which is a good one although I remember Dave suggesting that he thought that any sort of battery would be pretty devastating so maybe I should not reduce the firepower from the very off. Maybe reducing the lasting power could be a viable alternative such as havin...
by Maturin
Thu Jan 18, 2018 4:57 pm
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Royal Horse Artillery
Replies: 8
Views: 1002

Royal Horse Artillery

RHA troop size (particularly in the Peninsula) were relatively small (usually 4 guns per battery).
French equivalents had 6 guns. Should we adjust firing modifiers for this? Small batteries are N/A in the rule set
Cheers
Tim