Search found 12 matches

by in.cover
Sun Jul 16, 2017 8:45 pm
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Questons about Opportunity charges
Replies: 1
Views: 646

Questons about Opportunity charges

In a recent game a situation occurred which raised a number of questions. I was the player with initiative and had an infantry brigade on an assault order. I had an infantry battalion 7cms from an enemy battery. I declared a charge and supported it with one flank support and one rear support. The ba...
by in.cover
Tue Jul 11, 2017 2:30 pm
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Charge or Opportunity Charge
Replies: 5
Views: 956

Re: Charge or Opportunity Charge

DB Thanks for the clarification. It all makes sense. In option 1 it is all a matter of timing. All charges by both sides are declared before side A makes any charge moves and Side B makes any opportunity charges. Thus although A1s charge in cancelled when it is opportunity charged. It is too late fo...
by in.cover
Thu Jul 06, 2017 4:32 pm
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Charge or Opportunity Charge
Replies: 5
Views: 956

Charge or Opportunity Charge

Side A has a cavalry unit (A1) facing side B which has two cavalry units (B1) and (B2) which are outside of support range of each other. Side A has the initiative and declares a charge with its unit A1 on enemy unit B1. The Cavalry unit B2 is not the target of a charge and is not a support so it is ...
by in.cover
Mon Jul 03, 2017 12:13 pm
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: supports in melee
Replies: 1
Views: 647

supports in melee

When supports enter melee do they use the same charge result as the leading attack unit even if they are attacking different units (defenders support units). i.e. 3 cavalry units side by side and all within 5cm of each other are facing 3 enemy cavalry units side by side and facing them, again all wi...
by in.cover
Wed Jun 28, 2017 11:55 pm
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: More questions on charges
Replies: 4
Views: 1005

Re: More questions on charges

John Thank you for you reply. In the first of you explanations when would F2 declare its charge? As the Russian player is charging first then surely both R1 and R2 would move to the 5cm distance of the target. With the opportunity charge I think it is totally clear if F3 was charging R1 which is the...
by in.cover
Wed Jun 28, 2017 5:14 pm
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: More questions on charges
Replies: 4
Views: 1005

More questions on charges

For the following questions assume a Russian player has two cavalry units (R1 and R2) in line and side by side 5cm apart. Facing the Russian cavalry are two French cavalry units (F1 and F2) similarly lined up. The Russian player has the initiative. Q1 If Russian unit R1 charges French unit F1 then I...
by in.cover
Wed Jun 28, 2017 3:19 pm
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Columns being charged by Cavalry
Replies: 5
Views: 1068

Re: Columns being charged by Cavalry

David I think the problem comes as an infantry column in the rules can cover a number of historical types. Not all columns were densely packed. While Austrian Battalion Mass columns may have been dense columns, other columns were often a series of lines with large gaps between each line allowing ple...
by in.cover
Tue Jun 27, 2017 4:29 pm
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Massed column charge to melee
Replies: 4
Views: 1187

Re: Massed column charge to melee

The original example also raises some additional questions. I assume from the original question that a charge was declared by the centre unit with the two flanking units counting as supports. This results in a single charge test with both sides allowed rerolls. Q1 Could the attacker have declared 3 ...
by in.cover
Mon Jun 12, 2017 10:47 pm
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Skirmishers evading
Replies: 2
Views: 561

Re: Skirmishers evading

Thanks for your reply, all seems perfectly logical.
by in.cover
Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:04 pm
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Skirmishers evading
Replies: 2
Views: 561

Skirmishers evading

I am slightly unsure of the EVADING A CHARGE rule on page 66. If an infantry skirmish unit is charged and passes its Discipline test but has no close order friends or cover within 20cm does it have to retire the full 20cm or can it stop after say 10cm if the charging unit can no longer catch it and ...