Search found 404 matches

by DCRBrown
Mon Oct 14, 2019 9:50 am
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Columns through light woods
Replies: 9
Views: 341

Re: Columns through light woods

P, Rough Terrain in GdA applies to normal woods that have little to no undergrowth and are not densely packed with trees, e.g. the Forest of Soignes, Bossau Woods, Hougomont woods, etc. These were relatively open woods permitting formations to pass through - yes more slowly but nonetheless still mai...
by DCRBrown
Mon Oct 14, 2019 9:23 am
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Interpenetration fire or not to fire.
Replies: 7
Views: 336

Re: Interpenetration fire or not to fire.

Ricky, If the unformed/interpenetrated unit was a support then it cannot fire as it must retire with its routed lead unit. If the unformed/interpenetrated unit was not a support then it may fire with an unformed volley. In future the revised ruling will be: "No units may fire at a Charging On! unit ...
by DCRBrown
Mon Oct 14, 2019 9:17 am
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Respective differences
Replies: 11
Views: 428

Re: Respective differences

I must admit I'm a bit lost reading this, so hopefully I've got the gist of Pickedon's issue. You can choose any unit in an assaulting brigade to be the lead unit, as long as it fulfills the usual charge requirements. If you have a supporting unit ahead of your lead unit, (but nonetheless still with...
by DCRBrown
Thu Oct 03, 2019 8:54 am
Forum: The Ambassadors Reception:
Topic: PIE,MASH AND LARD IN LONDON
Replies: 8
Views: 1047

Re: PIE,MASH AND LARD IN LONDON

I'll also be demo-ing an O Group WW2 game - so please pop in and have a go!

DB
by DCRBrown
Sat Sep 28, 2019 9:32 am
Forum: Pickett's Charge
Topic: Artillery supporting fire
Replies: 12
Views: 799

Re: Artillery supporting fire

J, The GdA rule is a follow on version to overcome the situation of having the charging unit close to the battery but another unit, especially skirmishers, would also be within the battery's arc but just a little bit nearer. The presence of another unit, especially skirmishers, lead to players claim...
by DCRBrown
Fri Sep 27, 2019 3:12 pm
Forum: Pickett's Charge
Topic: Artillery supporting fire
Replies: 12
Views: 799

Re: Artillery supporting fire

The rule is intended to prevent a player from being able to coordinate the fire of numerous supporting units upon a charging enemy. I think we've probably all see it done, with players attempting to squeeze in fire from every possible unit in an attempt to stop a charge going in. The thinking is tha...
by DCRBrown
Fri Sep 27, 2019 2:59 pm
Forum: Pickett's Charge
Topic: Developing a Campaign for Pickett's Charge
Replies: 3
Views: 209

Re: Developing a Campaign for Pickett's Charge

J,

Looks intriguing!

Interested to see more.

DB
by DCRBrown
Fri Sep 20, 2019 8:24 am
Forum: Pickett's Charge
Topic: Charged in Flank or Rear
Replies: 3
Views: 227

Re: Charged in Flank or Rear

Correct:

Q1 = The defender cannot conduct any manoeuvre at all if the chargers started their charge from under 15cms. (p38)

Q2 = Whipped/Routers move directly away from the chargers for the first 10cms, thereafter move in a "backwards" direction. (p66)

DB
by DCRBrown
Tue Sep 17, 2019 10:47 am
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: skirmish fire
Replies: 3
Views: 308

Re: skirmish fire

Yes, not only do their represent a more dense target than skirmishers, but artillerymen also stand rigidly to attention and in the same position after each drill movement, thus making a relatively easy target. It's also designed to encourage players to support their batteries and not leave them isol...
by DCRBrown
Fri Sep 13, 2019 9:55 am
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Shevardino redoubt
Replies: 1
Views: 275

Re: Shevardino redoubt

E,

Its your choice to field either 6 gun batteries or 12 gun batteries.

But if you are using the 1812 order of battle, you may wish to follow that.

DB