Search found 373 matches

by DCRBrown
Sat May 25, 2019 7:26 am
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Terrain and Combat
Replies: 5
Views: 189

Re: Terrain and Combat

Al, Streams are an interesting feature in Napoleonic battles, as infantry rarely seemed to man the actual bank of a stream, as we tend to in wargames. Close order infantry often appeared to deploy further back and not hold the immediate bank, this being left to skirmishers. I suspect this might have...
by DCRBrown
Fri May 24, 2019 11:01 am
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Battles of the 100 Days - Scenarios
Replies: 107
Views: 12282

Re: Battles of the 100 Days - Scenarios

N,

In the French order of battle you'll note that the Empress Dragoons under Latort are a single unit brigade.

All brigades are required to have a minimum of 2 units, thus Napoleon's Empress Dragoon escort "brigade" does not qualify for an ADC.

DB
by DCRBrown
Fri May 17, 2019 4:06 pm
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Battles of the 100 Days - Scenarios
Replies: 107
Views: 12282

Re: Battles of the 100 Days - Scenarios

B,

Absolutely nothing wrong with that idea, however at the moment I'm opting for linked scenarios for the next campaign supplement and in future this might lend itself to a form of ladder campaign.

DB
by DCRBrown
Thu May 09, 2019 8:52 am
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Destiny & multiple charges
Replies: 8
Views: 292

Re: Destiny & multiple charges

M,

Yes, see p.46.

Though I am toying with the idea of simply allowing just one charge order per brigade - so your brigadier can either order a single charge or various supported charges but not one or more individual charges, as this was probably too difficult to coordinate.

DB
by DCRBrown
Wed May 08, 2019 10:53 am
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Destiny & multiple charges
Replies: 8
Views: 292

Re: Destiny & multiple charges

O, 1. On p46 the rules state that if a player rolls an unmodified 2D6 in the Charge phase they go directly to the Destiny Table & apply the results. Sounds clear but do you still also apply the charge results? A - Yes - it's both. 2. If I have three infantry columns echeloned as in the diagram on p6...
by DCRBrown
Fri May 03, 2019 4:57 pm
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Casualty Dice
Replies: 4
Views: 279

Re: Casualty Dice

J,

See Chapter 7, Infantry Volley & Artillery Fire General Rules: Casualty Dice, p73.

DB
by DCRBrown
Sun Apr 28, 2019 8:20 am
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Battles of the 100 Days - Scenarios
Replies: 107
Views: 12282

Re: Battles of the 100 Days - Scenarios

Its 6pdrs! :shock:
by DCRBrown
Wed Apr 24, 2019 10:28 am
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Sk fire
Replies: 11
Views: 475

Re: Sk fire

T, If faced by a large skirmish screen then you need to attack it, either by fire or by countering with your own skirmishers and also using the skirmish tasking or even artillery assault to drive off those skimishers. Both your guns and the garrison would be in range of the French skirmishers, (they...
by DCRBrown
Tue Apr 23, 2019 9:08 am
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Dismounted Cavalry
Replies: 7
Views: 608

Re: Dismounted Cavalry

A/B,

Dismounted Dragoons in close order would be the French dismounted dragoon a pied regiments of the Austerlitz campaign.

In all other situations, yes, dismounted dragoons would operate as skirmishers.

DB
by DCRBrown
Tue Apr 23, 2019 9:01 am
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Sk fire
Replies: 11
Views: 475

Re: Sk fire

T, In the Napoleonic Wars if an unsupported battery was attacked by skirmishers its normal response was to retire to a safer position. There are very few accounts of batteries slugging it out with skirmish screens, probably because the battery would come off worst, as you've described. Actually the ...