Search found 5190 matches

by Archdukek
Wed Oct 28, 2020 10:20 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Do Vehicles count as a Team when trying to win a "Probe" game ?
Replies: 10
Views: 219

Re: Do Vehicles count as a Team when trying to win a "Probe" game ?

It isn’t the vehicle it’s the team in it which meets the victory condition in a Probe scenario. So a jeep or truck with a driver wouldn’t do, but a recce vehicle or other manned vehicle would count.

John
by Archdukek
Thu Oct 22, 2020 9:43 am
Forum: Infamy, Infamy!
Topic: Open or Close order for Romans
Replies: 6
Views: 214

Re: Open or Close order for Romans

Being in Close Order enables Drilled troops to convert between 1/3rd and half of their Attack dice into Defence Dice (7.4 p57). Defence Dice can then be used to reduce the effect of an opponent’s attack before you roll for armour saves. (7.6.1 p 59) So being in Close Order helps Drilled Troops absor...
by Archdukek
Thu Oct 22, 2020 9:30 am
Forum: Infamy, Infamy!
Topic: Infamy Cards
Replies: 4
Views: 152

Re: Infamy Cards

Hi William, You don’t take an Infamy Card each time the Tempus Fugit card is drawn, it only happens at the End of an Act as you point out which is not the same thing and doesn’t happen so frequently. See the first paragraph of 2.3 on page 37 for the definition of when the End of an Act occurs. Basic...
by Archdukek
Wed Oct 21, 2020 4:23 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Effect of pinning on a leader
Replies: 5
Views: 227

Re: Effect of pinning on a leader

Hi Andy,
Yes I would agree. I’d forgotten that 14.2 means that Leaders do suffer a consequence if the unit they are with is pinned or breaks. Although in the case of a break they can then detach themselves subsequently.

John
by Archdukek
Wed Oct 21, 2020 1:22 pm
Forum: Infamy, Infamy!
Topic: Infamy Cards
Replies: 4
Views: 152

Re: Infamy Cards

Hi William, As far as I am aware there is no limit on the number of Infamy cards you can hold in your hand. There is a limit on how many you start with either 1 normally or 2 in a Civil War (see page 31). This can be increased up to 3 if you are playing the Infamy Campaign (page 31 & 96) Otherwise y...
by Archdukek
Wed Oct 21, 2020 1:06 pm
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Charging a unit to the flank
Replies: 13
Views: 393

Re: Charging a unit to the flank

Anythingbuta1 wrote:
Wed Oct 21, 2020 12:07 pm
I don't have the rules at work but isn't there something about aiming at the centre of the unit being charged.
Yes there is but it’s qualified and actually says “the lead charge unit should aim for the nearest point or middle of the target unit”. (Point 2, p 40)

John
by Archdukek
Wed Oct 21, 2020 12:57 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Effect of pinning on a leader
Replies: 5
Views: 227

Re: Effect of pinning on a leader

Leaders aren’t affected by Shock so can’t be pinned. However, it’s unlikely that you would want to detach a Junior Leader from his unit, you need him there to reduce the Shock. You might want to detach and move a Senior Leader which will cost you a Command Initiative. A barrage is different and will...
by Archdukek
Tue Oct 20, 2020 6:47 pm
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Charging a unit to the flank
Replies: 13
Views: 393

Re: Charging a unit to the flank

Only DB can give you a definitive answer on the rules, but for what it’s worth I would agree with Ricky that from your description this would seem to be a legal charge. It does however critically depend on the relative position of the two units at the point that the charge is declared. The rules spe...
by Archdukek
Mon Oct 19, 2020 8:07 pm
Forum: Pickett's Charge
Topic: Horse Artillery
Replies: 2
Views: 155

Re: Horse Artillery

My understanding is similar to siggian and the difference is in name only as the author says on page 17. Horse artillery, whose men were mounted, were simply field artillery batteries attached to cavalry units. Their mounts giving them some greater strategic mobility but tactically they would operat...
by Archdukek
Mon Oct 19, 2020 11:41 am
Forum: I Ain’t Been Shot Mum
Topic: Withdrawing at the end of the turn?
Replies: 4
Views: 252

Re: Withdrawing at the end of the turn?

Hi Darren, I don’t think it is heretical to put ideas up for discussion which you think will improve the game. However, in this instance I think you are confusing different concepts from different rules. As you say, both Chain of Command and Sharp Practice have mechanisms which can introduce a signi...