Search found 719 matches

by Captain Reid
Sat Sep 26, 2020 6:39 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Tank Platoon
Replies: 13
Views: 520

Re: Tank Platoon

You'll be telling me they were no true Scotsmen next . . . The Canadians officers of their 1st Hussars seem to have been similarly inclined, so I suspect that while it wasn't the norm, it wasn't too unusual either. Bit like section NCOs hogging the Bren, I suppose. PS: Shockingly, I have read that e...
by Captain Reid
Tue Sep 22, 2020 5:07 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Tank Platoon
Replies: 13
Views: 520

Re: Tank Platoon

Which is exactly why platoon leaders tended not to ride in them in reality. They might be beloved by wargamers, but the 17pdr Sherman wasn't nearly as popular with actual tankers. Though it is interesting to note that several troop commanders in the Scots Greys in Normandy were adamant they wanted ...
by Captain Reid
Fri Sep 18, 2020 5:21 pm
Forum: Sharp Practice
Topic: Hornblower / Aubrey type antics
Replies: 10
Views: 560

Re: Hornblower / Aubrey type antics

I have RN units in my Cerro Manteca rosters

https://drive.google.com/file/d/11cTAJd ... p=drivesdk

Second tab
by Captain Reid
Sat Sep 12, 2020 6:09 am
Forum: Infamy, Infamy!
Topic: Game Size Survey
Replies: 4
Views: 449

Re: Game Size Survey

Pretty much as per the rulebook 90-115 point core forces (though not always as per the book ones which I find a little peculiar in some respects). Up to 45 points of support depending on the Roll and the attacker's inclination. So ga,es have varied from just under 110 points to 160 points. 6 by 4 ta...
by Captain Reid
Mon Sep 07, 2020 7:39 pm
Forum: Infamy, Infamy!
Topic: Close Combat Modifiers
Replies: 7
Views: 334

Re: Close Combat Modifiers

In some circumstances two groups may contact a single Group. (See 7.2.5 on p.55)
by Captain Reid
Mon Sep 07, 2020 5:27 pm
Forum: Infamy, Infamy!
Topic: Close Combat Modifiers
Replies: 7
Views: 334

Re: Close Combat Modifiers

Fighting groups (ie those in base contact with the enemy get the assorted bonus/penalty dice, not supporting groups.
by Captain Reid
Mon Sep 07, 2020 12:12 pm
Forum: Infamy, Infamy!
Topic: two rules queries from the game yesterday
Replies: 2
Views: 187

Re: two rules queries from the game yesterday

1. You can't react to any ambush.
2. they lose 2d6 per fighting (not supporting) group

It's the same thing.
by Captain Reid
Sun Sep 06, 2020 8:31 pm
Forum: Infamy, Infamy!
Topic: Mixed units...
Replies: 4
Views: 258

Re: Mixed units...

Nope.

you could have an armoured group with a warrior group supporting from the rear, but that's it. You can't mix types in the same group.
by Captain Reid
Sun Sep 06, 2020 6:01 pm
Forum: Infamy, Infamy!
Topic: Mixed units...
Replies: 4
Views: 258

Re: Mixed units...

Yes.

That is to say one or more group in a Mob may be armoured while others are not.

A single Group can't have mixed types (unless purely as a visual with the group counting as just one type
by Captain Reid
Sun Aug 30, 2020 11:52 am
Forum: Infamy, Infamy!
Topic: Questions about the Battering Ram
Replies: 3
Views: 280

Re: Questions about the Battering Ram

It's tricky. A log used to batter in a door might just need 2-4 men, a ram hefty enough to batter a strong gate might need many great beasts to move it and a company of trolls to swing it, or at least a Group or two of men. For practical game purposes, I'd assume one Group of above half strength is ...