Search found 103 matches

by jon1066
Thu Nov 29, 2018 10:42 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: AP against Bunkers
Replies: 41
Views: 9200

Re: AP against Bunkers

With the Old Breed recounts an event where a US tank fired AP to knock a hole in a Japanese bunker to let a flamethrower get at the insides.
by jon1066
Thu Nov 15, 2018 3:11 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Possible Barrage House Rules
Replies: 40
Views: 9879

Re: Possible Barrage House Rules

... I think this is a good start, but have a number of points: I'd go for a square 'sheaf' because it's easier to mark, and for simplicity a single to hit of 4-6 (there are several rounds being called). And I'd carry on with the current size - a 24" radius circle will take out two-thirds of the boa...
by jon1066
Thu Nov 15, 2018 10:49 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Possible Barrage House Rules
Replies: 40
Views: 9879

Re: Possible Barrage House Rules

The problem is that mortar barrages are both too powerful and not powerful enough all in one go. An 81 mm mortar barrage at this scale would cover almost the entire board, or at least have the potential to harm almost the entire board. A FOO would therefore not try to move a mortar barrage by a few ...
by jon1066
Thu Nov 01, 2018 10:42 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Are the Roadblock Demo Rules too tough?
Replies: 13
Views: 3328

Re: Are the Roadblock Demo Rules too tough?

Thanks Munin that is very helpful, I have been focused on the lists rather than the scenarios and rule changes. This process eliminates the team not having to take shock etc which is actually hard to monitor during a game. I believe a similar process is laid out in the Achtung camapign in one of th...
by jon1066
Fri Jun 08, 2018 11:32 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Removing shock with a 3 and moving with a 2
Replies: 72
Views: 14912

Re: Removing shock with a 3 and moving with a 2

"On a Command Dice roll of 2, a Section or Squad may be activated. An attached Leader may accompany them if they move or fire if they fire, but may not use his Command Initiative in this Phase." jon1066 this is true but the discussion deals with what happens prior to this namely JL acivating on a 3...
by jon1066
Fri Jun 08, 2018 9:35 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Removing shock with a 3 and moving with a 2
Replies: 72
Views: 14912

Re: Removing shock with a 3 and moving with a 2

From Facebook, Lardy Rich It is perfectly acceptable to activate a Leader who uses all of his command initiative to rally shock. This is not an activation for the unit. If a unit has not been activated by its leader, then it can activate on a roll of 2. Therefore, putting these two statements toget...
by jon1066
Thu Jun 07, 2018 2:29 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Removing shock with a 3 and moving with a 2
Replies: 72
Views: 14912

Re: Removing shock with a 3 and moving with a 2

Sure, 4.5.3: Some commands given by Leaders are not considered activations and do not prevent a Unit being activated at another point in the same Phase. So you can do any of the things listed and you're not activating anything. You are not activating the subject of those things but the leader must ...
by jon1066
Thu Jun 07, 2018 12:30 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Removing shock with a 3 and moving with a 2
Replies: 72
Views: 14912

Re: Removing shock with a 3 and moving with a 2

You keep talking about the teams activating thats irrelevant is the leader that is being activated twice not the teams. You activate the JL when you give him the 3 surely? Only if you use that 3 to do something which is actually an activation. You got a reference for that? The way I read the rules ...
by jon1066
Wed Jun 06, 2018 2:44 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Removing shock with a 3 and moving with a 2
Replies: 72
Views: 14912

Re: Removing shock and moving

A careful reading of the rule would indicate you cannot use the Leaders CI only if he chooses to move if they move or shoot if they shoot. Therefore it is permissible for the JL to rally off 2 shock (using a 3) then the Squad to fire with a 2 but the JL cannot add his fire to the squad's when they f...
by jon1066
Fri May 25, 2018 1:30 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Question regarding 'Hits on Leaders'
Replies: 22
Views: 4608

Re: Question regarding 'Hits on Leaders'

He doesn't play it how it's explained in the rules? Very strange! Perhaps he forgot his own game rules?